The Sunscreen Squad

Close Your Window Shade! Melanoma up to 25 Times Higher in Pilots

Posted in sunscreen by sunscreensquad on October 3, 2008

A physio friend of mine told me of a study of melanoma skin cancer in pilots. I did a bit of Googling and found out that pilots’ melanoma risk is up to 25 TIMES higher! You know, it makes complete sense to think that at that altitude, above the cloud, UV radiation would be stronger…

This is a snippet of an article from a BBC story on the study:

“Farrol Kahn, director of the Aviation Health Institute, said: “One of the main factors would probably be from the radiation because pilots usually sit in the cockpit in short sleeves next to the windows”
BBC Pilots have ‘higher skin cancer risk’ Thursday, 17 February, 2000

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alena said, on December 5, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Alena

    http://www.smallbusinessavenues.com

  2. Wade Malicky said, on December 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    great read !

  3. Buy Dead Sea Kit said, on April 18, 2013 at 3:00 am

    What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid different customers like its helped me. Great job.

  4. http://rejuvenexblog.com/ said, on July 2, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Finding the time and actual
    effort to produce a really good article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole
    lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  5. foreverorganised.blogspot.com said, on July 6, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a
    coworker who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner because I found it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the
    meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about
    this topic here on your web site.


Leave a Reply

